Remembering the 1992 Los Angeles Riots: Part II Incarceration

Splitting the air above my head with it’s tiny load of death, I instinctively panned the camera to where the sounds originating from when another shot was fired. Shouting began and a car peeled out onto the street below me.  I had no idea if I was the target but I managed to get it on tape. I continued shooting film throughout the night, and it was only when I was filming a mass arrest of looters at a Von grocery store that a voice from behind me reminded me of my vulnerability. ‘You better watch out, cameraman.’

Excerpt from Cue The Camels, Chapter 4, Beirut L.A.   www.cuethecamels.comwww.oodlebooks.comwww.amazon.com  (Kindle Edition)

 

Leave a Reply

