Our Cosmic Road Trip

5:30 am, it’s a bit humid in L.A. but nothing like yesterday. Preparing my coffee in a French press and looking out the window I see a few clouds sprinkled on the horizon as the sun starts it climb for a new day. After feeding Frankie and Ogee Doggie I sat down to drink my coffee while listening to Radio Three Sixty podcast on my laptop. Still a bit sluggish I opened my computer and started to wade through the news of the day, and of course Gaza, Israel, Syria, Iraq, are all in headlines. I have many friends in the Middle East; Muslims, Jews, Christians and those who don’t identify with any organize religion but walk a spiritual path. To check in on my friends I went to the news feed of my Facebook page and scrolled down whilst Cosmic Road Trip played from the podcast. Images of air strikes, bombing, people waving flags and casualties fill my screen.  As the song continued the voice of Carl Sagan begins to describe our little blue planet in the Milky Way. How appropriate in the timing I thought.
““Look again at that dot. That’s here. That’s home. That’s us. On it everyone you love, everyone you know, everyone you Pale Blue Planetever heard of, every human being who ever was, lived out their lives. The aggregate of our joy and suffering, thousands of confident religions, ideologies, and economic doctrines, every hunter and forager, every hero and coward, every creator and destroyer of civilization, every king and peasant, every young couple in love, every mother and father, hopeful child, inventor and explorer, every teacher of morals, every corrupt politician, every “superstar,” every “supreme leader,” every saint and sinner in the history of our species lived there-on a mote of dust suspended in a sunbeam.The Earth is a very small stage in a vast cosmic arena.”
– Carl Sagan
Someday and hopefully soon we will realize that earth is only a temporary parking lot as the havens wait patiently for us to come home. Peace be upon you my friends.

Leave a Reply

